Issue One: Andrew Wells

This Evening’s Run

A broken wall,

corpse-branches,

and I know there’s

something under that log,

coming out from the drain

that sits in its cloud.

And it’s so quiet

before the next song.

Daddy please come home,

it’s dark and I don’t like it

                           Way down upon the Swanee River

                           Far, far away…

My Turkish Step-Great-Grandmother

she’s walked slowly to where her daughter’s

carried two deckchairs through the while

it took her to get down the hot steps.

you could mistake her for a child,

with that floppy white hat for shade.

and she always has that dressing gown on,

and she seemed just as old, five years

ago, when I saw her last before this.

she turns. I hope she doesn’t come

too close to me. I’d try good morning

in her language but after that

there’s nothing to talk about for us.

humming a song I think I’ve heard

she smells a pink rose, and walks back.

Andrew Wells is a writer who has been featured in Ink Sweat & Tears, Cyberhex Journal, and HARK Magazine, among others. He’s the founding editor of Haverthorn Magazine. He takes his coffee black with no sugar, and hates cycling.

portrait

Leave a comment